Find a TenderAwarded
Published 14 Apr 2023, 16:42 BST

Official UK procurement notice

Care at Home Flexible Framework Agreement

Official notice

Authority: West Lothian Council (Local council)·Consortium: 2 public authorities

Framework agreementServicesOpen procedureSME suitable
Framework ceiling (notional)£60,000,000framework ceiling, not attributable revenue · 1 value update
Submissions closed 30 Jun 2023awarded 22 Sept 2023
Next notice expected 1 May 2023

What is being bought

Published requirement description

Care at Home services provide personal care, including social and emotional support to enable people to continue or resume residing in their own home. The purpose of the service is to ensure quality of life for the individual, while enabling them to retain independence, Successful delivery of the service involves putting the person at the center of the decisions about the way they live and the support they want to receive.

The strategic aim of shifting the balance of care and ‘Home First’ is highly dependent on delivering the right care at the right time in the right place. Care at Home services are particularly important to ensuring that more care and support is delivered at home or closer to home rather than in hospitals or other clinical settings. The service landscape is complex and must also support the key principles associated with the Self-Direct Support legislation ensuring that service users and carers have choice and control over how their care is delivered.

  • Recurrence: Contract is for a period of 2 years with the option to extend for a further 2 x 12 month periods.

CPV: Health and social work services

How this framework works

From the published notice
Places
up to 16 suppliers · 32 bids received (2.0 per place) · 16 appointed (full)

The lotProcurement structure

single lot · no lot value published
Lot #1AwardedRenewal
Delivery: Scotland · Various locations across West Lothian.
Extensions: Optional extension of 2 x 12 month periodsVariant bids: not allowed

What it takes to win
i

How this buyer will score bids.

The evaluation criteria and weights exactly as published on the notice, grouped by family (price, quality, social value and so on).

Evaluation split and conditions of participation as published; the tender pack may add more
How bids were scored
Quality: 100%Price: 10%
Published sub-criteria (10)
  • Service Delivery: 20%
  • Quality Assurance: 20%
  • Implementation Plan and Contingency Planning: 10%
  • Service User Engagement: 10%
  • Adult Protection: 10%
  • Partnership Working: 10%
  • Staffing: 10%
  • Fair Work First: 5%
  • Community Benefits: 5%
  • price: 10%
Published award criteria (10)
  • Service Delivery: 20
  • Quality Assurance: 20
  • Implementation Plan and Contingency Planning: 10
  • Service User Engagement: 10
  • Adult Protection: 10
  • Partnership Working: 10
  • Staffing: 10
  • Fair Work First: 5
  • Community Benefits: 5
  • Price: 10
Conditions of participation2
  • Economic & financial standing

    RE ESPD Q4B.6; West Lothian Council will use Dun and Bradstreet DBAi financial reporting system to assess the financial stability of tenderers. Tenderers with a Failure Score of 50 or above on the DBAi system will be deemed to have evidence satisfactory financial stability. Please note that 49 or less will not be considered as having met this criteria. If a tenderer has a Failure Score of less than 50, the tenderer may be required to submit their last three years accounts.

    In the event that the tenderer is not required to publish accounts and therefore does not have a Dun & Bradstreet or equivalent rating, tenderers should be able to provide financial accounts when requested. The council will then conduct an analysis of the accounts to ensure that there is no significant financial risk. Please note that if you intend on attaching 2 years accounts, these must include financial data over a 3-year period.

    It is recommended that candidates review their own Dun & Bradstreet Score in advance of submitting their tender. If following this review tenderers consider that the Dun & Bradstreet Score does not reflect their current financial status, details of this should be provided, complete with evidence of a good high street credit rating (the equivalent of Dun & Bradstreet score 50) from a recognised credit referencing agency. The council will review any such information as part of the evaluation of Tenderer’s financial status.

    In the event that a firm does not meet the financial crit…

    Minimum: Professional Risk Indemnity: 2,000,000 (two million GBP) Employer's (Compulsory) Liability: 10,000,000 (ten million GBP) Public Liability: 10,000,000 (ten million GBP)
  • Technical & professional ability

    Bidders are required to provide 2 examples of previous similar experience to demonstrate capability. These will be scored on a pass/fail basis therefore further evaluation will not take place if unsuitable information is provided.

    Registration with the Care Inspectorate - Level 3 is a mandatory requirement. Where providers have no previous registration history, they will be required to provide evidence of a level 3 grade within the first 12 months of the contract commencement.

What this means for your bid
  • Price carries 10 of 110 points: a 10% discount moves about 1 point. The method statement decides this lot, not the discount.
  • “Care at Home Flexible Framework Agreement” is a framework: the contest is a place on its panel, up to 16 suppliers, not a single contract.

Price arithmetic assumes straight proportional scoring; the tender pack may use another formula.

Procedure terms & legal framework

From the official record · publisher note attached
Procedure method
Open procedure
Legal basis
CELEX · 32014L0024 Public Contracts Regulations 2015 (Directive 2014/24/EU)
Procurement category
Services
Notice status
Awarded
Procurement threshold
Unspecified in notice
Regulatory regime
Standard
Commercial structure
Framework agreement
Who may use this agreement
Not stated in the notice; call-off rights may be limited to the establishing authority
Competition type
Competitive procedure
GPA / WTO covered
Yes (GPA)
Recurring procurement
Yes · Contract is for a period of 2 years with the option to extend for a further 2 x 12 month periods.
First published
14 Apr 2023, 16:42 BST
Last source update
18 Jan 2024, 10:21 GMT
Award evaluation window
30 Jun 2023 – …
Authority reference
CC12434
FTS notice number
2024/S 000-001698
Classification (CPV)
Health and social work services
Delivery area
Scotland (UKM78)
Official registry OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-03beee Find a Tender
Contract terms
Electronic trading
e-invoicing allowed · electronic ordering · electronic payment

Publisher note: CONFIDENTIALITY - All information supplied by the Authority must be treated in confidence and not disclosed to third parties except insofar as this is necessary to obtain sureties or quotations for the purpose of submitting the tender. All information supplied by you to the Authority will similarly be treated in confidence except: (i) for any information required to be disclosed or otherwise provided by the Authority to any person in order to comply with the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 and any codes of practice applicable from time to time relating to access to public authorities’ information. The Tenderer shall co-operate, facilitate, support and assist the Authority in the provision of this information. In the event the Authority is required to provide information to any person as a result of a request made to it under such Act and/or codes, the Authority shall adhere to the requirements of such Act and/or codes in disclosing information relating to this Agreement, the Project documents and the Contractor. (ii) that references may be sought from banks, existing or past clients, or other referees submitted by the tenderers; (iii) for the disclosure of such information with regard to the outcome of the procurement process as may be required to be published in the Supplement to the Official Journal of the European Union in accordance with EU directives or elsewhere in accordance with the requirements of UK government policy on the disclosure of information relating to government contracts. Economic operators may be excluded from this competition if they are in any of the situations referred to in regulation 58 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015. Police Scotland will be consulted with regards to Serious and Organised Crime checks. Any links to this type of activity may cause your tender to be rejected. Re: SPD 2B, complete information for all company directors, using home address. (SC Ref:755594)

How it was run

Official notice
Run through: Public Contracts Scotland · Who buys & how to bid on PCS
Supplier login requiredLanguage: EN
Access & registration note: Free single registration for Scotland; PCS-Tender (Jaggaer) for full bidding
Appointment period ends
30 Jun 2023, 12:00 BST
Submission channel
{"electronicSubmission"}
Accepted languages
en
Bid validity
120 days from the deadline
Bids opened
30 Jun 2023, 12:00 BST
Detailed submission instructions & authority contactsFrom official release

Timeline

1 May 2023 → 18 Jan 2024 · 4 dates
  1. Next notice expected
    1 May 2023, 00:00 BST
  2. Admission / appointment period endsperiod end, not a bid countdown
    30 Jun 2023, 12:00 BST
  3. Bids opened
    30 Jun 2023, 12:00 BST
  4. Notice published
    18 Jan 2024, 10:21 GMT

Notice history

6 events · 3 releases on Find a Tender · since 31 May 2023
  1. Published value published: £60,000,000
    31 May 2023, 16:53 BST
  2. Status changed to active
    31 May 2023, 16:53 BST
  3. Procurement method changed
    31 May 2023, 16:53 BST
  4. Deadline published: 30 Jun 2023, 12:00 BST
    31 May 2023, 16:53 BST
  5. Buyer details updated
    31 May 2023, 16:53 BST
  6. Status changed to complete
    18 Jan 2024, 10:21 GMT

Commercial outcome & contract awards

Published awards, contracts and bid statistics, not a forecast
Suppliers appointed 16admitted to the panel · see the list ↓
Bids received 3232 from SMEs
Contracts signed 1latest 22 Sept 2023

1 suppliers are admitted to this framework without individual award values or dates, see the supplier list below.

Contracts

  • Contract 001698-2024-CC12434-1

    Signed
    22 Sept 2023
    Value
    £5,620,920
    Status
    active

Bid statistics published by the authority

BidsSMEVCSEValid bid range
32bids · 32 electronic · 32 from abroad32——

Contracting authority & participating public bodies

2 public bodies on the notice

West Lothian Council

Contracting authorityLocal CouncilRegional or local authorityGeneral public services West Lothian Civic Centre, Howden South Road, Livingston, Scotland, EH54 6FFContact email Published organisation website ↗

Dispute resolution & review bodies

  • Livingston Sheriff Court and Justice of the Peace CourtReview body Livingston

Framework contractors & participating bidders

16 commercial parties on the notice
  • Adigo LimitedFramework contractor Adigo House, , 28 Longridge Road, Whitburn, Scotland, EH47 0DEContact phone
  • All Care Services LtdFramework contractor 74 Fulmar Brae, Ladywell, Livingston, UK, EH54 6UUContact phone
  • Blessing Grace Limited t/a CURAFramework contractor 14 - 16 Goschen Place, Broxburn, Scotland, EH52 5JTContact phone
  • Bliss Care SoultionsFramework contractor 11 Grove Street, Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland, EH3 8AFContact phone
  • Call-In HomecareFramework contractor Call-In Homecare, 2 Anderson Place, Sugar Bond, Edinburgh, UK, EH6 5NPContact phone
  • Care1 Professional Services LTDFramework contractor 69 Buchanan Street , Suite 324, Glasgow, Scotland, G1 3HLContact phone
  • Caring Hearts LimitedFramework contractor Studio 202 Embroidery Mill Building, Abbey Mill Business Centre, Paisley, UK, PA1 1TJContact phone
  • Cera Care Operations Scotland LtdFramework contractor Lime Tree House, North Castle Street, Alloa, UK, FK10 1EXContact phone
  • Constance Care LimitedFramework contractor Suite 1 Munro Business Park, 15 Munro Place, Kilmarnock, UK, KA1 2NPContact phone
  • Direct care service limitedFramework contractor 40 king street, bathgate, Scotland, EH48 1AxContact phone
Show 6 more suppliers
  • ION Care and Support Services LtdFramework contractor Axwell House, 2 Westerton Road, East Mains Industrial Estate, Broxburn, West Lothian, Scotland, EH52 5AUContact phone
  • P4C Healthcare LtdFramework contractor 34 South Gyle Crescent, Edinburgh, UK, EH12 9EBContact phone
  • Potters Health Care LtdFramework contractor Office 2, 16 Melville Street, Falkirk, Scotland, FK1 1HZContact phone
  • Rainbow Services (UK) LtdFramework contractor 59/61, Beresford Terrace, Ayr, Scotland, KA19 7DRContact phone
  • SRS Care Solutions (Scotland) LimitedFramework contractor Annfield Business Centre, Teviot Crescent, Hawick, Scotland, TD69 9REContact phone
  • Wilta Health Solutions LtdFramework contractor 2 Cushat Gardens, Mayfield, Dalkeith, Scotland, EH22 5RQContact phone

Official documents & specifications

Official links; attachments are not copied

No document links were published on the notice.