UK Public Procurement Market: Live Tenders, Pipeline & Competition

213,559 notices in the catalogue8,225 contracting authorities · 96,028 named suppliersnightly projections · notices through 25 Oct 2026

Open now2,162deadline in the future or not published
i

Tenders you can still bid for.

Notices at tender stage whose deadline has not passed, counted the way the search counts them: a notice shows under every code and region it names.

Notices, last 12 months68,6938,220 contracting authorities in the catalogue
i

Notices published in the last 12 months.

Counted per tender, not per lot, against the 12 months before where shown.

Planning pipeline9,318PIN / early-engagement notices: tenders before they open
i

Tenders announced before they open.

Prior information and pipeline notices not yet tendered, still within the year in which such a notice can shorten the tender. Older plans stay under All records.

Typical bids per lot417% single-bid · 23,590 procedures, 36 months
i

How many companies usually bid for a lot here.

The middle value of the bid counts that award notices publish, one per lot. Only real competitions count: direct awards and framework places are left out.

Based on 28,661 lots from 23,590 competitions, last 36 months. 10,128 lots are from Procurement Act 2023 notices (bids assessed, middle 3) and 18,533 from older notices (bids received, middle 5).

Last 36 months.

Typical contract value£90,000middle value of 88,785 contract awards, net · not frameworks
i

What a contract here is usually worth.

Middle value of published award values, VAT excluded. Framework ceilings are left out because they are not real contract values.

Based on 88,785 awards with a usable value, last 36 months.

Published values, not actual spend.

Last 36 months.

Who buys
i

Which buyers publish the most notices here.

Buyers ranked by the number of notices, duplicate names merged.

Official UK_CA_TYPE where published (NHS bodies are central government authorities), else derived from the authority name · the ten most active authorities in the catalogue link to their dossiers

Buyer type
i

What kinds of public bodies buy here.

Notices by the buyer’s type as published, otherwise by its name.

  • Local authorities40%(82,733 notices)
    82,733 of 205,709 notices are Local authorities (40%).
  • Central government27%(55,720 notices)
    55,720 of 205,709 notices are Central government (27%).
  • Other public bodies12%(23,701 notices)
    23,701 of 205,709 notices are Other public bodies (12%).
  • Education & universities7%(13,799 notices)
    13,799 of 205,709 notices are Education & universities (7%).
  • NHS & health5%(10,776 notices)
    10,776 of 205,709 notices are NHS & health (5%).
  • Not classified9%(18,980 notices)
    18,980 of 205,709 notices are Not classified (9%).
Contracting authorityTypeNoticesLast 12 monthsOpen now
Surrey County CouncilLocal authorities7,2071,4833
UK Research and InnovationCentral government3,6861,8729
Ministry of DefenceCentral government3,25047216
Milton Keynes CouncilLocal authorities3,009847
MIDLANDS AND LANCASHIRE COMMISSIONING SUPPORT UNITNHS & health2,51100
Cumbria County CouncilLocal authorities2,39300
NHS EnglandCentral government2,3041,13010
London Borough of Haringey - Passenger Transport ServicesLocal authorities2,07700
West Northamptonshire CouncilLocal authorities1,9525156
Sutton, Achieving for Children and Kingstonnot classified1,3552140

What is bought
i

What kind of work is bought here.

Notices by procurement category (CPV). A notice with several categories counts in each.

The busiest CPV divisions by notices published in the last 12 months · a notice carrying several codes counts in each, so the bars overlap by construction

45 Construction & Civil Engineering9,556 notices, 12m · 481 open
85 Health & Social Care9,203 notices, 12m · 337 open
79 Business Services & Consultancy7,078 notices, 12m · 289 open
72 IT Services & Software4,774 notices, 12m · 141 open
71 Architecture & Engineering4,026 notices, 12m · 259 open
50 Repair & Maintenance3,418 notices, 12m · 204 open
48 Software Packages & ERP3,319 notices, 12m · 92 open
80 Education & Training3,157 notices, 12m · 142 open
60 Transport & Passenger Services2,961 notices, 12m · 86 open
90 Cleaning & Environmental Services2,156 notices, 12m · 186 open

How it is bought
i

How work here is packaged.

Notices by commercial tool: a single contract, a framework, or a dynamic purchasing system.

Commercial tool, procedure route and threshold as published on the notice, not a legal-regime claim

Commercial tool
i

How work here is packaged.

Notices by commercial tool: a single contract, a framework, or a dynamic purchasing system.

  • Contract89%(189,523 notices)
    189,523 of 213,559 notices are Contract (89%).
  • Framework10%(20,936 notices)
    20,936 of 213,559 notices are Framework (10%).
  • Dynamic purchasing system1%(3,100 notices)
    3,100 of 213,559 notices are Dynamic purchasing system (1%).
Procedure route
i

Which procedures buyers here use.

Notices by the procedure they declare: open, selective, limited or direct. Open and selective are competitions; limited and direct are not.

  • Open42%(90,358 notices)
    90,358 of 213,559 notices are Open (42%).
  • Limited / restricted19%(39,513 notices)
    39,513 of 213,559 notices are Limited / restricted (19%).
  • Route not published16%(34,786 notices)
    34,786 of 213,559 notices are Route not published (16%).
  • Direct award13%(28,512 notices)
    28,512 of 213,559 notices are Direct award (13%).
  • Selective10%(20,390 notices)
    20,390 of 213,559 notices are Selective (10%).
Threshold
i

How much of this market is above the legal threshold.

Notices by whether the buyer marked them above or below the threshold that triggers the full rules.

  • Above threshold62%(21,416 notices)
    21,416 of 34,756 notices are Above threshold (62%).
  • Below threshold38%(13,340 notices)
    13,340 of 34,756 notices are Below threshold (38%).
Typical tender window
i

How long bidders get to respond.

Middle value in days from the tender notice to its deadline.

All notices we hold, not just recent ones.

31 daysrobust · n=30,199

Competition

UK contracts published in the last 36 months (112,523) · bid counts per lot from award notices · values are net contract awards, framework and DPS ceilings excluded · SME status as declared

Bids per lot · n=28,661
i

How many bids past lots received.

Each colour is a bid-count range. Only competed lots with a published count are included.

Past bids do not predict this tender.

Last 36 months.

  • 1 bid17%(4,768)
    4,768 of 28,661 lots fall in 1 bid (17%).
  • 2–327%(7,676)
    7,676 of 28,661 lots fall in 2–3 (27%).
  • 4–624%(6,949)
    6,949 of 28,661 lots fall in 4–6 (24%).
  • 7 or more32%(9,268)
    9,268 of 28,661 lots fall in 7 or more (32%).
Contract value, net
i

The usual range of contract values here.

The middle half of published award values, VAT excluded, with the middle value marked. Framework ceilings are left out.

Published values, not actual spend.

p25 £30,866middle value £90,000p75 £400,000
interquartile range of 88,785 awards · p90 £2,361,102
Typical bids per lot
i

How many companies usually bid for a lot here.

The middle value of the bid counts that award notices publish, one per lot. Only real competitions count: direct awards and framework places are left out.

Based on 28,661 lots from 23,590 competitions, last 36 months. 10,128 lots are from Procurement Act 2023 notices (bids assessed, middle 3) and 18,533 from older notices (bids received, middle 5).

Last 36 months.

4robust · n=23,590middle half 2–8
Competed
i

How much of this market is actually put out to competition.

Notices run as an open or selective procedure, out of all notices that say which procedure was used. Direct awards count as not competed.

45,811 of 104,451 notices that state a procedure, last 36 months. 8,072 more give no procedure and are left out.

Last 36 months.

44%robust · n=104,451
Bids from SMEs
i

What share of bids come from small and medium firms.

SME bids divided by all bids, on lots where the buyer published the split.

55,461 SME bids out of 82,523, on 17,237 lots where the buyer published the split.

Last 36 months.

67%robust · n=82,523
Awards won by SMEs
i

What share of contracts go to small and medium firms.

Awards to a single supplier that declared its size. SME divided by all.

57,253 of 105,914 awards where the winner declared its size.

Last 36 months.

54%robust · n=105,914
Deadline to award
i

How long buyers here take to decide after bids close.

Middle value in days from the bid deadline to the award date, on competitions that published both.

Based on 8,712 decided competitions, last 36 months.

Only decided tenders count, so slow ones still waiting are not in.

Last 36 months.

46 daysrobust · n=8,712
Winning award vs estimate
i

Do winners come in above or below the buyer’s estimate.

For each lot we compare the published estimate with the award, like for like. Below means the winner was paid less than estimated, above means more.

Based on 13,718 lots with both an estimate and an award, last 36 months.

A past pattern, not a price to bid.

Last 36 months.

at the estimaterobust · n=13,7185,096 below · 2,583 above
Abandoned
i

How often a tender ends with no award.

Notices cancelled, withdrawn or marked unsuccessful, plus terminated ones that never got an award.

2,314 of 112,523 notices, last 36 months.

Only what buyers published. Tenders that quietly went nowhere are not counted.

Last 36 months.

2%robust · n=112,523
Frameworks & DPS: bidders per lot
i

How many companies apply to get onto a framework or DPS here.

Middle value per lot, frameworks and dynamic markets only. Getting onto a panel is not the same as winning work, so it is kept separate.

Based on 13,011 lots from 4,523 framework and DPS notices, last 36 months.

Last 36 months.

6robust · n=4,5239,975 vehicle procedures · admission to a panel, not a contest

Regional markets

The twelve ITL-1 delivery regions · a notice covering several regions counts in each, so the rows overlap and never sum to the catalogue · competition columns: contracts awarded in the last 36 months, work delivered in the region

RegionOpen nowNotices, 12mBuyersBids / lotWon locally
LondonUKI74014,717474440%
South EastUKJ7448,4004201053%
South WestUKK7077,886293439%
North WestUKD7396,666282447%
Yorkshire & HumberUKE7175,928187352%
East of EnglandUKH7175,376289442%
West MidlandsUKG7175,020269450%
East MidlandsUKF7264,175186550%
WalesUKL6633,763163347%
North EastUKC6773,015107446%
ScotlandUKM6992,131270371%
Northern IrelandUKN5661,485110360%

Won locally: single-supplier contract awards of the last 36 months won by a supplier registered in the delivery region.

Who wins
i

Which suppliers win the most here.

Suppliers ranked by the number of tenders won, not by money. A supplier on one big framework with many call-offs does not outrank one that won many separate competitions.

Ranked by distinct procedures won, then award records; all kinds (framework and DPS panel appointments included), all retained years, 223,177 awards to 67,029 suppliers · the five most frequent winners hold 1% of contract awards in the last 36 months

SupplierProceduresAwardsLast 12 monthsBuyers
network cars (tottenham) ltd54154101
STL4424421131
Chiltern Healthcare43043001
XPERT CARS421421621
Softcat Plc350401187209
Community Care Direct Limited33833803
Airport Transfer Cars Ltd33733727
Cumbria View Care Services Ltd31331303

The directory of all 96,028 named suppliers, with attributed award value where it is single-supplier and net, is on Suppliers.

Where to submit
i

Where bids for this work are submitted.

Notices by the portal in their submission link, where one is published.

E-sourcing portals by open notices · each portal page explains registration, prerequisites and how to bid

ProContract311 open now
In-tend251 open now
Delta166 open now
PCS148 open now
JAGGAER141 open now
Atamis130 open now
EU-Supply119 open now
Sell2Wales51 open now

Early pipeline
i

Tenders announced before they open.

Prior information and pipeline notices not yet tendered, still within the year in which such a notice can shorten the tender. Older plans stay under All records.

The 12 freshest planning and market-engagement notices · sorted by publication date · a published “tender expected” date is shown when the notice states one

Early-market noticeAuthorityPublishedTender expectedPublished value
ISO 9001 Quality Management System Support Services for EA CPSAuditing services · Certification servicesthe Education Authority26 Oct 202616 Nov 2026£49,999
2627-0255 Building ServicesBurglar and fire alarms · Construction structures and materials; auxiliary products to construction (except electric apparatus)Islington Council26 Oct 202615 Feb 2027£22,000,000
RFI - National Recruitment Service (Postgraduate Training)Health servicesNHS England26 Oct 202631 Mar 2027£20,000,000
Web Filtering and MonitoringIT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support · Software package utilitiesThe David Ross Education Trust26 Oct 202611 Jan 2027—
Provision of Youth Digital Safety and Online HarmsIT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support · Software package and information systemsPolice & Crime Commissioner for Merseyside & Chief Constable for Merseyside26 Oct 2026not stated£150,000
Water Retail ServicesConsulting services for water-supply and waste consultancy · Water distribution and related servicesSEVERN TRENT WATER LIMITED26 Oct 20269 Nov 2026—
Residential Placement ProvisionDaycare services · Residential nursing care servicesThe North Yorkshire Council26 Oct 20261 Jun 2027£114,192,000
Preliminary Market Engagement Questionnaire - Ultrasound GelMedical equipments, pharmaceuticals and personal care productsRegional Business Services Organisation Procurement and Logistics Service26 Oct 2026not stated—
Vehicle Mounted ComputersPortable computersYorkshire Purchasing Organisation26 Oct 2026not stated£100,000
Natural Resources Wales - Tree Planting Framework AgreementAgricultural, forestry, horticultural, aquacultural and apicultural services · Forestry servicesNatural Resources Wales26 Oct 202625 Jan 2027£5,500,000
DDaT26494 - Enterprise Identity ProjectSoftware package and information systemsUK Research and Innovation26 Oct 202618 Dec 2026—
Domestic Abuse Support Services for Adults, Children and Young PeopleHealth and social work servicesHartlepool Borough Council26 Oct 202618 Jan 2027—

All 9,318 pipeline notices… →

About this data
  • Source. Official UK public procurement notices (Find a Tender), reused under the Open Government Licence v3.0. New notices arrive through the day; the figures are rebuilt nightly.
  • What counts here. Every notice in the catalogue (213,559). Smaller contracts published only on Contracts Finder are not included yet. The pipeline lists planning notices: prior information and market engagement before a tender opens. Notices from 2021 to 25 Oct 2026.
  • Competition. Bids and winners cover the last three years and count each lot as its own contest; frameworks and dynamic purchasing systems are shown apart from ordinary contracts.
  • Why no total spend. Notice estimates often repeat a framework’s ceiling, and sectors and regions overlap, so adding them up would overstate the market. Typical contract values are shown instead.
  • Every figure shows what it rests on. Not every notice publishes a bid count, a value or a delivery region, so each figure carries the number of records behind it, and one built on few records is marked as such. The on a figure explains it; the counting rules are in the methodology. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.